New Cabinet Of Canada

16 Jul 2013

Immigration News

Stepher Harper’s Government has major changes to the cabinet.

The new faces introduced are:

1. Chris Alexander

Minister of Citizenship and Immigration; formerly held by Jason Kenney.

Riding/Region: Ajax-Pickering, Ontario (2011)

2. Candice Bergen

Minister of State (Social Development)

Riding/Region: Portage-Lisgar, Manitoba (2008)

3. John Duncan

Minister of State (Chief Government Whip).

Riding/Region: Vancouver Island North, British Columbia. (2008)

4. Shelly Glover

Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; formerly held by James Moore.

Riding/Region: Saint Boniface, Winnipeg (2008)

5. Kellie Leitch

Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women; formerly held by Lisa Raitt and Rona Ambrose, respectively.

Riding/Region: Simcoe-Grey, Ontario (2011)

6. Rob Moore

Minister of State (ACOA) and Regional Minister for New Brunswick and Newfoundland.

Riding/Region: Fundy Royal, Newfoundland (2004)

7.Pierre Poilievre

Minister of State (Democratic Reform); formerly held by Tim Uppal.

Riding/Region: Nepean-Carleton, Ontario (2004)

8. Michelle Rempel

Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification); formerly held by Rona Ambrose.

Riding/Region: Calgary Centre-North (2011)

9. Greg Rickford

Minister of State (Science and Technology/Fednor); formerly held by Gary Goodyear.

Riding/Region: Kenora, Ontario (2008)

10. Kevin Sorenson

Minister of State (Finance); formerly held by Ted Menzies.

Riding/Region: Crowfoot, Alberta (2000)

The new portfolios are:

  1. Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay

Minister of National Revenue. Formerly Associate Minister of National Defence.

  1. Leona Aglukkaq

Minister of Environment. Formerly Minister of Health. (Retains roles as Minister of Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency, Minister for the Arctic Council.)

  1. James Moore

Minister of Industry. Formerly Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

  1. Rona Ambrose

Minister of Health. Formerly Minister of Public Works and Government Services as well as Minister of the Status of Women.

  1. Lynne Yelich

Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular Services). Formerly State (Western Economic Diversification).

  1. Julian Fantino

Minister of Veteran Affairs. Formerly Minister of International Cooperation.

  1. Tim Uppal

Minister of State (Multiculturalism. Formerly Minister of State (Democratic Reform).

  1. Gail Shea

Minister of Fisheries and Oceans. Formerly Minister of National Revenue and Minister for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency.

  1. Steven Blaney

Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. Formerly Minister of Veteran Affairs and Minister for La Francophonie.

  1. Diane Finley

Minister of Public Works and Government Services. Formerly Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development.

  1. Jason Kenney

Minister of Employment and Social Development. Formerly Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism.

  1. Christian Paradis

Minister of International Development and Minister for La Francophonie. Formerly Minister of State (Agriculture).

  1. Lisa Raitt

Minister of Transport. Formerly Minister of Labour.

  1. Maxime Bernier

Minister of State (Agriculture). Retains position as Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism).

  1. Rob Nicholson

Minister of National Defence. Formerly Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

  1. Peter MacKay

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada. Formerly Minister of National Defence.

Staying put profiles are:

  1. Jim Flaherty: Minister of Finance.
  2. Denis Lebel:  Minister of Infrastructure, Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs. Also becomes regional minister for Quebec and Minister of DEC.
  3. Bernard Valcourt: Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.
  4. Gary Goodyear: Minister of State (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario). No longer Minister of State (Science and Technology).
  5. Bal Gosal: Minister of State (Sport).
  6. Alice Wong:  Minister of State (Seniors).
  7. John Baird: Minister of Foreign Affairs.
  8. Ed Fast: Minister of International Trade. No longer Minister of Asia-Pacific Gateway.
  9. Joe Oliver: Minister of Natural Resources.
  10. Peter Van Loan: Leader of the Government in the House of Commons.
  11. Tony Clement: President of the Treasury Board. No longer Minister of Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
  12. Gerry Ritz: Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Foods.


  •  I agree to the Privacy Policy
Thank you so much for your kind support ...

Axxxxxxxx xxxxxxA


At every stage, I was guided very well ...

Axxxxxx xxxxH


It was a great experience. Case officers are ...

Pxxxxx xxxxxU


Thanks for all your help and support. Really ...

Jxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxM


Thank you so much. We are pleased to associate ...

Rxxxxxx xxxxxx


Your team was very helpful in following up ...

Jxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx


Thank you very much for all the guidance ...

Vxxxxxx xxxxxxx


Opulentus has been very helpful. My case officers ...

Vxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxN


I am very glad to choose Opulentus. Thanks to ...

Pxxxxxx xxxxxxR


The team at Opulentus has been very helpful ...

Lxxxxxxx xxxxxx


View All

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon